The Norfolk Stakes

The Norfolk Stakes is a Group 2 sprint run on the third day of the Royal Ascot meeting.

The Norfolk Stakes was originally run as the New Stakes in 1847, but was renamed the Norfolk Stakes in 1973 to honour the contributions of the 16th Duke of Norfolk to the administration of the racetrack. The race was first classified a Group 3 event, before being upgraded to a Group 2 race in 2006.

The Norfolk Stakes is one of the sprint highlights of the Royal Ascot meeting, and is open to two-year-old thoroughbreds.

Norfolk Stakes Betting

Although the Norfolk Stakes is a rather frenetic and short race, Norfolk Stakes betting trends indicate that backing the market favourite can pay dividends. Race favourites tend to perform well in the event, with the last three years seeing the favourite finishing placed. The obvious strategy is therefore to look for each-way value at the top of the market among horses likely to place, but priced above 4/1.

Norfolk Stakes Winners

The Norfolk Stakes attracts some of the best thoroughbred sprinters in Great Britain and Ireland. Arguably the finest racehorse to have taken the race is 2001 Norfolk Stakes winner Johannesburg, who never lost a race as a two-year-old and took four Group 1 races in his career.

Popular Italian jockey Frankie Dettori shares the record for most wins along with John Carrol, each having ridden two Norfolk Stakes winners apiece.

Peter Chapple-Hyam leads the trainer rankings when it comes to fielding the most Norfolk Stakes winners. Chapple-Hyam has won three Norfolk Stakes, starting with his first victory with Turtle Island in 1993 and following this up with another two titles in 2006 and 2007.

Norfolk Stakes Odds