The Hardwicke Stakes

The Group 2 Hardwicke Stakes run during the course of the annual Royal Ascot meeting.

The Hardwicke Stakes was first run in 1879, and won by Chippendale. The race was named after Charles Phillip Yorke, the 5th Earl of Hardwicke. Today this historic race is one of the medium distance highlights of the Royal Ascot meeting.

The Hardwicke Stakes is run over a distance of one mile and four furlongs on the Ascot flat racing track. Entry to the race is restricted to four-year-old and above thoroughbreds

Hardwicke Stakes Betting

The Hardwicke Stakes is a stayer’s race that usually features a small field. The market does a good job of picking winners and losers in this race, but to be on the safe side look at backing entries priced over the 4/1 margin with each way bets.

Hardwicke Stakes Winners

A number of thoroughbreds have managed to achieve multiple Hardwicke Stakes wins during the history of the race, with the record of three titles set between 1882 and 1884 by the legendary Tristan. A number of other racehorses have taken two Hardwicke Stakes winners’ titles, including recent winner Mahaarel, who won consecutively in 2006 and 2007.

Pat Eddery is easily the most successful jockey in the history of the Hardwicke Stakes, having won five of the 13 Hardwicke Stakes races from 1986 through to 1998. With Eddery now retired, veteran Richard Hills has been making up lost ground and partnered Mahaarel to both his victories in 2006 and 2007.

Sir Michael Stoute, nine times British Champion Trainer, has an excellent record in the Hardwicke Stakes. Five of Stoute’s horses have been victorious in the Hardwicke Stakes over the past 20 years. Stoute’s wins with Mahaarel in 2006 and 2007 edged the great trainer two races ahead of his closest Hardwicke Stakes rival, Mark Johnston.

Hardwicke Stakes Odds