St James’ Palace Stakes

The St James’ Palace Stakes one of the first group one feature races run at the  Royal Ascot meeting.

The St James’ Palace Stakes was first run at the Royal Ascot meeting in 1834, with Plenipotentiary emerging as the first winner of the race. The race was named after the residence favoured by the Royal Family during the Tudor period, and upgraded to a Group 1 race in 1988.

As a Group 1 race the St James’ Palace Stakes is one of the 31 horse races held in England each year considered to be of international importance. The St James’ Palace Stakes is open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and is run over the distance of a mile. The race tends to attract entries who ran in the 2,000 Guineas and Irish 2,000 Guineas earlier in the season.

St James’ Palace Stakes Betting

The St. James’s Palace Stakes is always a class act, tending to attract the finest 3-year-old milers in the UK and Ireland. It’s not unusual for the winners of both the Irish 2,000 Guineas and English 2,000 Guineas to feature in this event, making for a classic showdown between the best that Ireland and England have to offer. Betting markets tend to be solid when it comes to pricing the favourites, which makes it tough to get value on a favourite. Keep an eye out for foreign entries with Group 1 credentials who could upset the apple cart or score a place, as these will offer the best value in the betting markets.

St James’ Palace Stakes Winners

The St James’ Palace Stakes attracts the finest milers in the United Kingdom and Ireland, and has seen several brilliant racehorses win the race as part of their short flat racing careers. Outstanding 2002 winner Rock of Gibraltar deserves special mention for winning the European Racehorse of the Year award following his St James’ Palace Stakes win.

Irish jockey Michael Kinane can virtually call the race his own after capturing five St James’ Palace Stake wins in the past two decades. Riding his first St James’ Palace Stake winner in 1992, Kinane won the race again as recently as 2004 on Azamour.

Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien heads the list of St James’ Palace Stakes winners with four of his racehorses winning the race in the last decade. Amongst the horses he has trained for victory was Sir Alex Ferguson’s Rock of Gibraltar.

2015 St James’ Palace Stakes Odds