Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes is one of three Group 1 races run on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.

The Queen Anne Stakes was first run in 1840 as the Trial Stakes. In 1930 the race name was changed to commemorate the role of Queen Anne in establishing horse racing at Ascot. The race started off with a Group 3 status, but was upgraded to a Group 2 race in 1984 before being upgraded to Group 1 status in 2003.

The Queen Anne Stakes is open to thoroughbred racehorses aged four and over, and is the meeting’s premier 1 mile event for thoroughbreds who remained in training following their 3-year-old season.

Queen Anne Stakes Betting

Queen Anne Stakes betting can be a challenging undertaking, as it tends to comprise an eclectic selection of veteran milers from all corners of the globe, some of whom will be running for the first time in the season. It’s not unusual to see former Guineas winners in the mix, as well as horses that won at the Dubai World Cup Night or in big races in Hong Kong and France. Your best bet in this race is to take a good look at form and favour horses who have a proven track record over English turf. If a favourite for this race drops under 2/1 think seriously about a lay bet, as the race is too unpredictable to pinpoint a solid betting favourite with any sort of accuracy.

Queen Anne Stakes Winners

Although the Queen Anne Stakes is open to horses in more than one age group, no racehorses have managed the feat of winning the race twice in recent years. Refuse to Bend has been the pick of the recent Queen Anne Stakes winners with his win at the race earning him a second Group 1 title for the year in 2004.

The pick of the Queen Anne Stakes winning jockeys is Italian Frankie Dettori, who has ridden six Queen Anne Stakes winners since 1990.

As far as trainers are concerned, United Arab Emirates trainer Saeed bin Suroor has an unmatched record in the race, having trained seven Queen Anne Stakes winners in the last two decades. His performances at events such as the Royal Ascot have earned him four British Champion Trainer titles.

2015 Queen Anne Stakes Odds